Skip to main content

UC San Diego Faculty Leadership Academy

Congratulations to the 2019 Graduating Class of the Faculty Leadership Academy!


Professor Amy Adler, Visual Arts
Teaching Professor Christine Alvarado, Computer Science & Engineering
Professor Daniel Arovas, Physics
Professor Christine Chung, Radiology
Professor Elsa Cleland, Ecology, Behavior & Evolution
Professor Pamela Cosman, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor Scott Desposato, Political Science
Professor Shlomo Dubnov, Music
Professor Todd Gilmer, Family Medicine & Public Health
Professor Olivia Graeve, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Professor Michael Holst, Mathematics
Professor Ariel Lang, Psychiatry
Professor Jennifer Le, Pharmaceutical Sciences
Professor Bill Lin, Electrical & Computer Science
Professor Daisuke Miyao, Literature
Professor Jeremy Rich, Medicine
Professor Maike Sander, Pediatrics
Professor Veronica Shubayev, Anesthesiology
Professor Courtney Thornburg, Pediatrics
Professor Judith Varner, Cancer Center
Professor Elina Zúñiga, Molecular Biology

 2020 Faculty Leadership Academy 

Program Description:

The Faculty Leadership Academy is designed for senior faculty members considering future leadership positions. The program will offer a broad understanding of the University as a dynamic and inclusive institution, and will provide faculty with an opportunity to develop their knowledge of the diverse, complex, and changing landscape of higher education while exploring their individual role in that context. Participants are selected as part of a competitive process, based on proven ability or demonstrated promise as academic leaders at UC San Diego.

The application period for the 2020 Academy will open in fall 2019.  Seminars will begin in January 2020 and continue monthly through June 2020 with sessions ranging in duration from 3 to 4 hours. The seminars will be interactive and participants will engage with case studies using relevant current examples. All sessions are devised to develop key skills and allow faculty to put learning into practice to enhance their ability to bring about positive change and meet organizational goals. 

 Participants will learn:

  • about the University, its organization, operations, and Strategic Plan;
  • to effect and manage change;
  • to build collaborative, collegial relationships within and outside of the University;
  • to distinguish the skills and attributes of effective academic leaders, as well as the challenges and rewards of becoming an academic leader;
  • to consider current and future challenges and opportunities in higher education;
  • to understand the benefits and imperatives of diversity, self-awareness, and ethical leadership.


  • Full-time Senate faculty (Professor, Professor in Residence, Professor of Clinical X) appointed at Step I and above
  • Full Teaching Professors (Senior Lecturer with Security of Employment) and above

Seminar Schedule:  Coming Soon

  • All materials and meals will be provided.

If selected, participants must commit to attend all sessions. 

Application/Nomination Process:

Please check here in late Summer 2019 for information on the 2020 Faculty Leadership Academy.

For questions regarding the Academy, please contact Lynn Field-Karsh, (858) 822-4032 or

 2018 Faculty Leadership Academy Graduates